Volunteer Recognition

There’s a GIANT in All of Us

Volunteers are the lifeblood of the Concord GIANTS. As a community club – run by the community, for the community – we are 100% reliant on volunteers to coach and manage our teams, and to provide all the administration functions necessary to run a thriving junior AFL club.

All parents are expected to contribute to the running of the clubs in some way – whether that’s an occasional shift on the BBQ or canteen, or a regular weekly role such as coaching or managing a team. We appreciate all our volunteers but some go ‘above and beyond’ and are recognised in the following ways:

Life Membership: Life Membership of the Concord GIANTS is awarded to Club members as recognition for an extraordinary contribution over many years. They are people who have contributed their time, energy, resources and funds consistently throughout the time they have served the club.

Darren Mackie Clubperson of the Year Award: This award has been created to honour and acknowledge a significant contributor to the life of the club over the season. The Darren Mackie Award reflects the efforts of a man who put the Concord Giants first in the early days of the club. His title of Ground Manager and later Secretary belied his true contribution as he worked tirelessly and thoughtfully to better the club. Darren died suddenly in 2011 and left behind a wife and three young children. The nominee for the award is decided by the Executive, with input from the Committee.

Darren Mackie Clubperson of the Year Award winners

Mauro Vianello – 2018

Diane Tucker – 2017

Paul Broadbent – 2016

Dean Lee – 2015

Alison Bowhill-Hayes – 2014

Patricia Cassar – 2013

Vicky Caulfield – 2012

Sue Gibbs – 2011

Concord GIANTS Life Members

Chris Gibbs – 2018

Alison Bowhill-Hayes – 2018

Patricia Cassar – 2016

Vicky Caulfield – 2016

Dean Lee – Founder of the Concord GIANTS – 2014

Darren Mackie – posthumous recipient in 2014

Concord GIANTS Club President Honour Roll

Jamie Reeves – President 2018-19

Dean Lee – President 2018

Natalie Baini – President 2017

Andrew Baxter – President 2015-16

Mathew Robinson – President 2014

Steve Slaney – President 2010-13

Owen Standard – President 2006-09

Dean Lee – Founding President, 2005



© Copyright - Concord Giants Football Club. Hosting provided by http://fluccs.com.au.